Links and Reference

Welcome to our links and reference section. Please let us know if there are any additions or revisions you’d like to see.

Boating Rules

Gravel Lake

  • Boat traffic goes counter-clockwise.
  • Channel entrance etiquette: please wait on lake side for exiting boats from channel.
  • Observe the “Slow, No Wake” signs in the channel and weed bed.
  • Do not allow anyone to ride the front of pontoon boat.
  • Be aware of the ski course on the northwest side of the lake (to avoid unnecessary anchor line entanglements).
  • Waterskiing (and other towed sports) is limited to an hour before sunrise and an hour after sunset.
  • PWCs may operate between 8am and sunset.
  • Improper distance: operating above slow, no wake speed at anything less than 100ft (of other vessels, including persons being towed, rafts, docks, shoreline).
  • Improper distance for a PWC: operating above slow no wake speed at anything less than 150ft.
  • No one less than 14 years of age may operate a PWC.
  • Anyone at least 16 years old and born after 12/31/1978 may operate a PWC with a boating safety certificate.
  • Anyone born before 12/31/1978 may operate a PWC without restrictions.
  • Every person being towed behind a boat on water skis, etc. must wear a type 1, 2, or 3 PFD (this includes surfing without a rope behind a boat).
  • Michigan law requires anyone under the age of 6 to wear a type 1 or type 2 PFD when riding on the deck of a boat while underway (type 1 and type 2 pfds have a neck support flap on the back).
  • A person shall not launch or transport watercraft unless they are free of aquatic organisms including plants.

Handbook of Michigan Boating Laws and Responsibilities

Water Quality

Lake Studies & Surveys

Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS)

Sewers, Septics, Runoff, Shorelines

Boat Wash

Riparian Rights & Law / Lake Access / Permitting